The Tarsier Conservation In Bohol, Philippines

What is a tarsier?  

It’s a mini-monkey. It’s one of the rarest primates that only live on the Island of Bohol in the Philippines  

A mini-monkey?  

Yep, it’s about 5-6 inches tall and has eyes like a furby. In fact it kinda looks like a colourless furby. In fact it probably is a furby placed in the trees. I didn’t exactly grab one and do a DNA test on one so it would be pretty funny if the Filipino’s decided to scam tourists by placing a load of furbys in the trees and saying that they are a rare animal that only lives in this part of the world…

Do you have any pictures?

Yes and no. My phone cost me £40, and the knock on effect of that is my camera isn’t exactly world class. The lighting is poor and the fake furbys are nocturnal animals, so its hard to get a good photo of them if you phone costs less than £50. Oh, first world problems…

What the Hellboy 2 are they called again?

Tarsier (Tar-see-uh)

Where did you see them?

In a tarsier conservation. It was in a place called Loboc just south of the chocolate hills.

<sigh>, I’m not a bloody local! What are the chocolate hills?

I’ll explain that in my next post (Ooh, suspense! If you want something to do whilst you are waiting you can buy one of my books. BOOM! I managed to put another plug in here! I reckon I’ve earned a drink…)

Anyway, the chocolate hills are bang in the middle of the island of Bohol. We were staying in the port town called Tagbilarian which is on the south west side of Bohol. The island is pretty much a circle so its easy to know where you are. From there we rented a motorbike and sang ‘Born to be wild’ whilst riding to the south of the island then cutting up to the middle. So it’s best to see the tarsiers first then go up to the chocolate hills.

Can I ask about the chocolate hills?

No.

Prick…

Blasphemy! I’m suing you…

OK I’ll change the subject; so tarsiers and shit, talk to me…

The conservation was pretty much what I expected; a mini jungle with signs everywhere telling you to be quiet as to not scare the tarsiers. Of course we had a group of loud Chinese tourists directly behind us scaring away any potential animals who wanted to jump on my shoulder and hum ‘You’ve got a friend in me’ whilst high fiving me. We did find some. I took photos but didn’t get any good ones. I saw them though. Honest! And they probably weren’t furbys…

How much was it?

60 Pesos to get in, which isn’t that bad.

I’m a little bit slow. Can you convert it for me please?

Certainly! As you asked so nicely…

$1.20 = 60 Pesos

£0.95 = 60 Pesos

2.4 Bulgarian Lev = 60 Pesos

32000 Vietnamese Dong = 60 Pesos

8 Croatian Kuna = 60 Pesos

OK, I get it…

Hold on! 1 more:

75 Macedonian Dinar = 60 Pesos

Was it worth it?

What? The joke or the conservation?

I guess both…

I hope the joke was worth it. It’s not for me to judge. If not feel free to shout abuse in the comments section and I’ll get the hint. I love a bit of banter…

And what about the tarsier conservation? Was it worth going to?

For the photos no, but to physically see them I’d say a definite yes. I’m not a big photo fan anyway. I just take photos so other people can see and enjoy where I’ve been, but I’d much rather store the memories in my head and think back in a few years time with a smile. Like when Doug said they may be teddy bears placed in the trees and one slowly moved its head like a battery operated toy, blinking slowly at the end.

Erm…are you sure they weren’t furbys?

I’m really not…

20170211_130134

Leave a Reply

