Skopje Zoo: Macedonia

15443221_1390164451018091_3472275852283646169_o

Yesterday I missed the bus to the Macedonian village (which is hilariously called ‘Macedonian Village’) so I was wondering what I could do that afternoon that didn’t mean I’d wasted a day sitting on my bed hoping all the riches and happiness in the world would fall on my lap, then by pure chance I saw there was a zoo on the map. It was a 45 minute walk, but I could still have a good 3 hours wandering around the zoo if I left right that second, so off I went. It was only 50 Dinar (Less than a pound) to get in, so it wouldn’t be that bad if I only got to see 3 hours worth…

After asking a few people where it was I eventually found the zoo with the help of a young couple who spoke good English. I walked in and found a zoo that was pretty much derelict…

Sure, they had animals, but a lot of the enclosures were empty (I heard this place was awful 10 years ago but they are improving it, so maybe the enclosures are ready for animals to live in in the future.) I walked around in shock thinking that I was going to be done in ten minutes. All the food and drink stalls were closed and there were overgrown grassy areas that hadn’t been tended to in a while. I turned around and looked at the few animals that were out, trying to get my money’s worth, then headed towards the exit.

Just as I was leaving I saw an extra half of the zoo that was far more populated, so I went in that direction and saw a few more animals that were far more energetic and happy. This cheered me up because at first I was concerned for the animal’s well being, but once you see happy animals it makes you feel far more relaxed.

15403700_1390159984351871_5810454371700703465_o

The worlds most photogenic bison…

The seals were dancing around, the giraffe was playing hide and seek and the baboon was trying to start a fight with anyone who made eye contact with him. I soon realised why the animals were so happy, Macedonian people normally bring fruits and vegetables with them, and feed it to the animals. I didn’t see a zookeeper the entire time I was there so seeing the locals look after the animals made me feel much better about the place. I watched the bears stand on their hind legs for food and roar at each other then I went to the final section of the zoo: the bird section.

 

15370170_1390163974351472_7379177158107068872_o

Nothing too much to report here, except when the kids were waving at a bird on top of the cage I soon realised that one of the birds had escaped from the cage and was walking around freely. I looked in disbelief as the peacock was staring into the…um…peacock cage like a paying customer. I took some pictures because that’s what privileged people do…

So the whole visit only took 45 minutes of my life. It was only a small zoo so 45 minutes was more than enough. I wouldn’t recommend seeing this zoo as a tourist, but if you view it more as a place where you can feed all sorts of animals then I would recommend it. Go in armed with fruits and shoots, then feed animals until your heart’s content, or until you run out of food…

15392878_1390160421018494_7133732073046751728_o

 

3 thoughts on “Skopje Zoo: Macedonia

  1. What a sad insight to yet another derelict zoo. I hope they aren’t bringing in more animals.
    I wonder what would happen if the caring locals weren’t there to feed them. And what if one becomes sick, who will even notice?
    Thanks Lewis for bringing it into the open. Maybe there’s a petition somewhere to get help for these neglected animals. All zoos should be closed down, we have no right to treat other living beings like this.
    On a brighter note, I hope that peacock manages to free his friends 🙂 It looked to me like they were hatching an escape plan.
    Safe travels to your next destination.
    T x

    • I heard that there was a zoo in Bangkok that treated the animals badly, so I was happy to see that when I went up to Chiang Mai the animals were relatively free and looked healthy.

      I dread to think what the animals would be like if the locals weren’t so caring, but thankfully there are a lot a kind, caring people in the world

  2. Pingback: Stop 23: Skopje, Valentin and Nikoletta | sirlewisofclarke

Leave a Reply

