Writing job interview

I have been applying for many jobs recently. One of the jobs that really caught my eye was a job as a travel writer for a company based in London but writes about all places around the world. I sent them my CV and a cover letter explaining why I would be suitable for the job. Even though I put my heart into it I didn’t expect to hear anything back due to the fact I have never studied any form of writing before.

Despite this I received an email that same day from a lady asking if I wanted to arrange an interview. I was ecstatic because this is something I really enjoy doing, and if someone is willing to pay me to do that then life would be pretty legendary for me…

I answered the phone for the interview and she introduced herself and asked about my writing background, my books and why I would like to work for that company. I can’t remember the last time I spoke so passionately about something. I’m normally really passionate when I’m talking about my books but when I lost my confidence the passion tended to die as well (quick update: I’m pleased to report that my confidence has skyrocketed over the past week. I’m not 100% but I’m definitely starting to feel back to normal again for the first time in over a year)

I was obviously slightly nervous because it was an interview situation, but overall I felt I did well solely by the fact I showed my enthusiasm for travel and writing. I also felt the interview questions were far easier to answer than I thought due to them being about something I enjoyed and a job that I genuinely wanted to do.

The bad news is that this particular job was in London. More specifically, Kensington. And I had massively misjudged how much is was going to cost to get the train into London every day. Lets put it this way; I would have been spending more than half of my wages on train tickets, even if I got a monthly pass…

I immediately emailed the lady when I saw this and told her that although I would love to work there, financially I wouldn’t be able to make it happen. I thanked her for her time and asked if she would consider me in the future if a job came up in the future that would not cost me hundreds of pounds a week on travel alone. She seemed really nice and from what I can gather from the way she talked about the other staff it was a close knit environment where people genuinely enjoyed each others company.

So I’m afraid I won’t be working as a travel writer in the near future. It’s a shame but I’m a firm believer that things happen (or don’t happen) for a reason and I wasn’t meant to do that job right now.

Leave a Reply

