Twiddly Diddly Dee, Golf Is Not For Me…

I have some amazing friends. I know everyone says that but I found out when I got robbed in Cambodia that I had friends come out of the woodwork and didn’t even hesitate to help me out. One of those people was a guy called Matt, who has been dating another good friend of mine for about 2 years now. Matt invited me to go to the driving range and angrily hit a few golf balls, shouting out ex-girlfriend’s names right before impact. I agreed, Even though the last time I went to the driving range was three and a half years ago, and it’s been over 10 years since I last played properly…

I was running late, mainly because I’ve been a lazy bum since I got back into Chiang Mai and my body clock is way out of sync. I frantically text him saying that I was sorry and had overslept. He said not to worry, so I lazily dragged myself out of bed and did Lewis things before heading to Stardome Golf.

20151204_122922

Matt with his award winning swing…

Matt was a natural. I however, was not. Don’t get me wrong it WAS fun, but I won’t be challenging Monsieur Woods at the US Open any time soon.

20151204_122919

We didn’t actually hit any balls, Matt just posed for this picture and then we went home…

Matt hit one shot that went 200 yards and ever so slightly to the right. I remarked, “Cracking shot, old fella!” (I may be paraphrasing that…) I then had a go and I swung and missed. Not only that; on the pirouette I hit the ball machine next to us with the back of the club. “You’re a fucking disaster!” Matt laughed. I did too, male bonding at it’s finest…

20151204_123001

He still hadn’t moved from this position 10 minutes later…

We hit a few more and it was time to go home. I’m in Chiang Mai until Saturday so hopefully we can do this again and I can hit that Happy Gilmore shot that everyone says they did once. Until then, I’m going to enjoy being lazy until I get back home. After that I have to get my arse in gear and sort a load of stuff out. Including what I’m gonna do for 2016. Maybe I’ll buy a lottery ticket and I won’t have to worry about that. A foolproof plan don’t you think?

me matt and shaylena

Me, Matt and Shaylena at an Italian restaurant discussing golf strategy and how to grow epic beards…

Leave a Reply

