It’s all coming together…

I’m about 70% into my latest book. At least, I was until yesterday. Yesterday evening I came up with a plot twist that is unfortunately going to make me write an extra 30,000 words than planned (approximately 100 pages), but it will be worth it as it adds so much more depth to the already intriguing story line.

I sat down and mapped out how it’s going to go. I don’t have all the specific details about how I’m going to connect the dots, but the majority of the story is there now, and in order on how I want it to go. Now all i have to do is physically write it (which is a lot easier said than done)

This book has already surpassed 70,000 words (200+ pages) and I expected it to be close to hitting 100,000 once it was finished. Now i reckon it will easily be more than 300, possibly even 400 pages. Not bad for someone who normally writes novellas that are between 100 and 150 pages.

The good thing about this one is that I quit my job a couple of weeks ago, so I can focus my energy on writing this rather than countless hours stressing about making a student pass an exam that they are clearly not ready for. I’m learning that if I need a break, I go and kick the punchbag, do some push ups, play some snooker or pool, go for a jog, have a couple of drinks, whatever it is I need to unwind I do it. I’m no longer feeling guilty about enjoying my life even though i may not have reached my quota yet for the day. A clear mind means that I am ready to attack some more of this book. I’m averaging a thousand words a day now; double what I was a month or so ago, so that’s a bonus. I feel motivated to finish this one before September hits and I have to sort my life out (that’s when my visa ends in this country)

And then what? The plan is to send this one to publishers instead of simply self publishing it. Early on in my writing career I got told by various people that I was wasting my time trying to get published since most publishers wouldn’t even let me in the door if I didn’t have some sort of English degree. Naively I believed them and didn’t even try to get properly published. Now my confidence in my writing ability is growing i feel the time is right to show the world I can do this on a professional level, that I can turn this into a career, and most importantly, I can take people on a journey with my words.

Leave a Reply

