Touched by a monk; the aftermath

If you saw my blog post a couple of weeks ago you would know that some poor sex starved monk got himself a handful of Lewisness, however two weeks on i’m still not sure how to react…

Don’t worry, i’m not emotionally scarred or anything. In fact i feel like I’ve done my bit for the Buddhist faith! But i have had a lot of people come up to me and talk about ‘the incident’ to see how i truly feel about it. A few people have said why don’t you report the monk’s behaviour, while others have made (admittedly quite hilarious) jokes about it. But there was one person i spoke to who made a valid point;

I went out with a friend a couple of days ago and the subject came up about the ‘cupping and then pretending to sleep’ fiasco. And he said to me “Are you OK?” “I’m fine, don’t worry.” I responded dismissively. “Do you think you can deal with this better because you are a man?” He asked, or something along those lines. To be honest i can’t remember exactly what he said, but it was thought provoking.

When it happened i wasn’t upset in any way, i simply found it bizarre and then proceeded to tell everyone about it. Most people laughed either with or at me. But for a woman it quite rightly is a different story. Granted he didn’t do anything serious to me, he just got a handful which left me in disbelief rather than trauma, whereas for a woman it would be a hugely traumatic experience, something that would be immediately reported to the police and hopefully the person accused would be held accountable for their actions.

Sometimes i wonder if it is because i have been in Thailand for so long, where i have been exposed to much more than the average bear in terms of sex and what is acceptable. Maybe this has softened my view on the matter. I did shoot up out of my seat when i realised what was going on and i wonder if the old me would have hit him out of shock and anger, whereas the ‘Thai’ me seemed to lean towards the ‘mai pen rai’ mentality. It could have been this, or it could have been the fact that as a straight man having a male monk touch you like that is something that you can never really prepare for so the only possible way you can deal with it is through humour.

If i have a point, it is that i suppose i am lucky that i hasn’t affected me mentally (on the plus side it has given me a couple of weeks worth of blog material while i get the first few thousand words of my 6th book down. Oh yeah, i’m on my 6th book now, i’ll bore you about that next week) but even though i’m not too bothered, should i be? It’s not OK to accept this is something that is a part of life. What if it was a woman? And a shy one at that? They may not be as blaze as me about it. Maybe my reaction to what had happened isn’t the right one; maybe i’m enabling this kind of thing to continue. Am i doing the wrong thing by trying to find the bright side of this? I suppose there is no ‘bright side’ and if you look long enough, you will always find the negatives in things…..

Leave a Reply

