Introduction

Sir Lewis of Clarke?

Yes. I can’t remember when exactly this started, but I would write people’s names like this in letters or if I had to leave a note for someone at work. I forgot about it for years until I got a letter from my sister addressed to ‘Sir Lewis of Clarke’. One of my friends said that this was actually quite funny and an ideal name for a blog and thus Sir Lewis of Clarke was born.

So you’re a blogger, Great! You and thousands of other people! What’s so special about your blog?

I’m an English teacher in Thailand, and a few months ago I realised I wasn’t getting much work and i was getting ridiculously bored out of my skull, and I thought “I need to do something or i’m going to go crazy.” So I decided to write a novel. I had a concept in my head and I wanted to run with it for an hour a day and see where it went, mainly for something to do and to keep me going during this time. I assumed that after a few days i would get bored and forget about it. But 3 weeks in I was over half way through the book and i was getting excited to go home and write more. I remember once I was talking to a friend of mine and I have this distinct memory of me thinking “Sorry, but I’m not listening to a word you’re saying. This plot twist has jumped into my head and I don’t want to forget it!” A few weeks later I finished the first draft and gave it to a few friends of mine to get some feedback. Unfortunately they were dragging their feet to give me their feedback and during this time I ended up writing the first draft of my second book! I am now currently nearly half way through my 3rd book and this blog is mainly about updates about my writing. My thought processes and how I’m feeling at the time of writing.

So you’re a writer? Got it. Anything else?

Actually yes. Like I said I’m an English teacher living in Thailand and have been living here for nearly 3 years. So this blog will be predominantly about writing but I may end up posting some things about living and/or working in Thailand. To be honest I’m not 100% sure how this is going to go. I’m not that great with computers and I admittedly have no idea what I’m doing as far as blogs go, but i’m sure I’ll pick it up as i go along. At first I was very worried about starting a blog because once something is out on the internet it is there forever. But in the end I just decided to give it a go and see what happens. A friend told me “You are not writing for other people, you are writing it for you. And if you do that like-minded people will read it.” So that’s basically what I’m doing.

OK, Great! So what are the books about?

I’ll go into more detail about them next week. This is basically just a ‘Hello, i’m sirlewisofclarke, welcome to my blog’ kind of thing. I’ll put a picture up when I figure out how to move a facebook photo onto this blog (I told you i’m terrible with computers!) so it’s ciao for now!!!!

2 thoughts on “Introduction

Leave a Reply

